Jaleel McLaughlin among the finalists for the Walter Payton Award

Youngstown State is running back Jaleel McLaughlin is one of the 30 finalists for the 2022 Walter Payton Award, presented annually to the national offensive player of the year in the NCAA’s Football Championship Subdivision.

McLaughlin, a two-time finalist for the Harlon Hill Award, presented to the best player in Division II, now adds to his outstanding college resume by being a finalist for FCS Best Offensive Award.

McLaughlin, a 2021 first-team All-MVFC selection and a third-team All-America selection, posted even more impressive numbers during his final season with YSU. In 2022, he rushed for 1,588 yards with 227 carries and had 13 touchdowns. Against tough MVFC competition, he had 1,220 yards on 184 attempts and scored nine goals while averaging 152.5 yards in eight league games. He ran for 200+ yards four times and had eight games for 100+ yards last fall.

In his five-year NCAA career, which included two years at Notre Dame, Ohio, before joining YSU, he rushed for an NCAA all-division record for 8,166 yards in 1,250 carries while catching 79 touchdowns. In his three seasons as a Penguin, he rushed for 3,418 yards on 535 attempts and had 30 touchdowns.

McLaughlin is one of 12 running backs on the Payton Award finalist list. During the recently concluded regular season, he ranked second nationally in rushing yards and rushing yards per game, fifth in tries, seventh in touchdowns, and eighth in yards per carry.

2022 Walter Payton Award finalists


Tim DeMorat, Fordham, Gr., 6-4, 220 (Patriot)
Cole Doyle, Saint Francis, R-Sun., 5-10, 170 (Northeast)
Bailey Fisher, Gardner-Webb, R-Sr., 5-11, 207 (Great South)
Michael Hiers, Samford, Jr., 6-1, 211 (south)
Parker McKinney, Eastern Kentucky, R-Jr., 6-3, 208 (ASUN)
Tommy Mellot, Montana State, Sun, 6-0, 205 (Big Sky)
Davius ​​Richard, North Carolina Central, Jr., 6-3, 215 (MEAC)
Shedeur Sanders, Jackson State, Sun., 6-2, 215 (SWAC)
Lindsey Scott Jr., UIW, Sr., 5-11, 212 (Southland)
Matthew Sluka, Holy Cross, Jr., 6-3, 215 (Patriot)
Reece Udinski, Richmond, Gr., 6-4, 220 (CAA)

Running backs

Aidan Borguet, Harvard, Sr., 5-10, 211 (ivy)
Jake Chisholm, Dayton, Sr., 5-9, 191 (pioneer)
Ailym Ford, Chattanooga, Jr., 5-9, 213 (South)
Ulonzo Gilliam Jr., UC Davis, Sr., 5-9, 189 (Big Sky)
Geno Hess, Southeast Missouri, Sr., 5-8, 222 (Ohio Valley)
Hunter Luepke, North Dakota, Sr., 6-1, 236 (MVFC)
Jaleel McLaughlinYoungstown State, Sr., 5-9, 183 (MVFC)
Deonta McMahon, McNeese, Sr., 5-9, 185 (Southland)
ShunDerrick Powell, North Alabama, Sun., 5-7, 168 (ASUN)
Jaden Shirden, Monmouth, Sun., 5-9, 185 (CAA)
Cameron Skattebo, Sacramento, Sun., 5-10, 212 (Big Sky)
Bhayshul Tuten, North Carolina A&T, Sun., 5-11, 195 (Big South)

wide receiver

Fotis Kokosioulis, Fordham, Sr., 5-9, 180 (Patriot)
Xavier Gipson, Stephen F Austin, Sr., 5-9, 180 (WAC)
Devron Harper Jr., Jr., 5-9, 168, Mercer (South)
Joey Hobert, Utah Tech, Sun., 5-11, 180 (WAC)
Andrei Iosivas, Princeton, Sr., 6-3, 200 (ivy)
Xavier Smith, Florida A&M, Size, 5-10, 170 (SWAC)

Offensive lineman

Cody Mauch, North Dakota, Sr., 6-6, 303 (MVFC)