Bohn nominated by the WSC for the Harlon Hill Trophy

WAYNE, Neb. — Wayne State college quarterback Nick Bohn is among 48 football players nominated for the 2022 Harlon Hill Trophy for Division II college football player of the year.

A total of 12 nominees are from Super Region 1, 11 from Super Region 2, 14 from Super Region 3, and 11 from Super Region 4. Wayne State is in Super Region 4.

Bohn joins UNK’s TJ Davis as a candidate from Nebraska programs.

Bohn, a sophomore from Bennington, was responsible for almost 3,000 yards on total offense in 2022. He completed 162 of 273 passes for 2,246 yards with 19 touchdowns and six interceptions. He rushed for 725 yards and seven touchdowns.

Bohn is one of only seven sophomores nominated for the award.

Wayne State finished the season 9-3, only the fourth time the Wildcats won nine games in a season. The Wildcats secured their second place finish in the NCAA Division II playoffs while also winning the school’s first NSIC football championship.

Shepherd (WV) University’s Tyson Bagent, the 2021 Hill Award winner and 2022 Super Region I nominee, could become the fifth repeat winner in the award’s history. Nebraska-Kearneys T J Davis (Colorado Springs) and Bemidji State’s Brandon Alt also return after reaching the finalists stage a season ago.

Bagent, considered a 2023 NFL draft prospect, has led the Rams (11-1) to the second round of the NCAA playoffs. He has up to 3,812 passing yards with 39 TDs (35 passing and four rushing).

The group of 48 candidates includes 16 quarterbacks, 10 wide receivers, eight running backs, seven defensive linemen, six linebackers and one punter/kicker. In addition to the seven sophomores, 35 seniors and six juniors are nominated.

The sports information directors for the 164 NCAA Division II football-playing institutions nominate and vote on the award. The top 48 candidates will enter regional ballots, and the top two players from each of the four NCAA regions will advance to national voting when regional voting closes Monday, November 28.

The 2022 award winner will be announced on Friday, December 16 and the winner will be honored on Friday, January 13, 2023 at the Little Rock Touchdown Club Awards Banquet.

Candidates are first nominated by the sports information directors of their respective schools. The SIDs in these super regions choose their top five candidates. The winner will then be determined in a nationwide vote by the heads of department II for sports information.

The Harlon Hill Trophy is named for the late Harlon Hill – a former University of North Alabama standout – who excelled with the Lions from 1950-1953 before finding fame with the Chicago Bears of the National Football League.